Our volunteer Doug cataloged this photo today of the William Ruth House, located at 975 17th Street NE in Salem. Built around the turn of the century it bears a stunning resemblance to the GoogleMaps Street View (TM) seen today.
The State of Oregon Inventory of Historic Properties survey done in the 1980s lists Edsel K. Croan as the owner and the following history (year, owner/resident, occupation):
1917-1935 William R. and Rachel J. Ruth, farmers
1940 – James H. and Eugenia Dorman, guard State Penitentiary
1945 – Harold C. Battin, printer, Unruh-Knapp Printing
1950 – Lawrence J. and Josephine Kelsh, Herting Equipment Company
1966 – Edsel K. Coran, plant operator, Detroit Dam
The photo came to us in a collection of materials from Marguarite Sumpter, whose grandparents William and Rachel Ruth, lived in the house.